Winchester Amateur Operatic Society - WAOS - Patience - May 1959 - Guildhall Winchester


Programme cover for Patience 1959
Click on cover to view full show programme

Producer and Stage Director: Gladwys Starling

Musical Director: John Sealey

By Gilbert and Sullivan



Colonel Calverley - Robert Wilton

Major Murgatroyd - Bryon Cavill

Lieutenant The Duke of Dunstable - Wyndham Radcliff

Reginald Bunthome - Bertram Dobson

Archibald Grosvenor - Edward Willis

Mr Bunthorne’s Solicitor - John Spalding

The Lady Angela - Jane Binsted

The Lady Saphir - Barbara Williams

The Lady Ella - Muriel Fisher

The Lady Jane - Dorothy Crosby

Patience - Mary Spalding

Chorus of Rapturous Maidens

Valerie Bell, Margaret Bone, Gillian Eldridge, Margaret Elton, Josephine Fulford, Juliet Gowan, Irene Hayne, Joy Hicks, Anna Layton, Myfanwy Mitchell, Kathleen Neall, Iris O’Grady, Clarice Portsmouth, Vera Portsmouth, Susan Rundle, Ann Shawyer, Stella Smith, Anne Whittle

Chorus of Officers of Dragoon Guards

Roger Bevan, John Blake, Paul Brown, Gerald Harding, Colin Harris, Mervyn Hayne, Edgar Holmes, Austen Hooker, Brian Hurst, Raymond Hutchins, John O’Grady, Eric Salter, Harold Shawyer, Ronald Stainer, David Surplice, Paul Tipple, Richard Trower

ARCHIVE: 2020 - NOW   2010s   2000s   1990s   1980s   1970s   1960s   1950s   1940s   1930s   PRE-1929

WMOS is a member of

Website created by 

Simon Meanwell-Ralph of



© 2021 Winchester Musicals and Opera Society

Charity Registration Number: 1057417




Contact our

Vice Chairman

by clicking HERE

Patience - May 1959

WMOS | Winchester Musicals and Opera Society | WAOS | Winchester Amateur Operatic Society